What happens if you do not accept the new privacy policies of WhatsApp?
Since the beginning of this year, a great commotion has generated the announcement of WhatsApp about the changes in its privacy policies, a situation that even led to moving the date of entry into force of the measure, so that users will have more time to understand the adjustments in the standards.
The instant messaging application decided to announce what will happen to the accounts that do not accept the policy update on May 15.
(You may be interested: WhatsApp publishes what changes in the new policies)
At first, the platform clarified that If by that time the person has not accepted the privacy changes, the company will not delete their accountBut you will not be able to enjoy all the functions of the application until you say yes to the settings.
“For a short time, you will be able to receive calls and notifications, but you will not be able to read or send messages from the application”, Says the company belonging to Facebook.
(Also: The function that WhatsApp prepares to log out of the application)
In addition, After May 15, users will be able to accept the updates in the policies and while doing so, the inactive users policy will be applied. This regulation provides that after 120 days of inactivity the account will be deleted. The content stored in the account will remain on the user’s device until the user deletes the app WhatsApp on your phone.
On the other hand, Before the policies go into effect, people will be able to export their chat history on phones with Android or iOS operating systems.
(Also: This is the information that WhatsApp shares with Facebook companies)
The platform also clarifies that in the event that the user decides to delete their account, all message history will be erased, it will be removed from all the groups to which it belongs and the backups will disappear.
The changes announced by WhatsApp earlier this year are related to the data that the platform shares with the other Facebook companies. As well as the new functions that companies that have corporate accounts will have within the application.
For a short time, you will be able to receive calls and notifications, but you will not be able to read or send messages from the app
“Often times, people discover businesses on Facebook or Instagram from ads that include a button that you can click to send them a message on WhatsApp. As with other ads on Facebook, If you choose to click on them, this information could be used to personalize the ads you see on Facebook“, points out the platform at the time.
(Also: WhatsApp: how to know with what name they saved my contact?)
Likewise, the app has clarified that the content of the messages will continue with end-to-end encryption, which means that users will be the only ones who can read and access these conversations. What’s more, These data are not stored on the platform’s servers.
You may also be interested in:
– WhatsApp will work without a cell phone, with two mobiles at the same time and without internet
– The possible risks behind alternate versions of WhatsApp
– Whatsapp will block user accounts that use WhatsApp plus
Twitter: @ TecnósferaET