WhatsApp improves privacy and enables a button to send photos and videos that can only be viewed once
WhatsApp has just launched this feature for everyone after testing it for several weeks in the beta version.
Do you want to send a photograph that can only be seen once and then no trace remains? Or better a video? WhatsApp has activated this possibility after testing it for a little over a month in the beta version and it is especially easy to use, you just have to pay attention to the submit button.
WhatsApp is implementing a multitude of new features in recent times. A very interesting one came a few days ago with the option that archived conversations do not launch notifications when someone writes. Now comes another one more focused on privacy: photos and videos that are destroyed after being viewed only once.
Although for some it may seem little useful, surely there are those who find a situation to use it. Be for him sending passwords, compromised or ephemeral images, sexting or in any other situation more daily where it is valued as unnecessary for this multimedia content to be stored.
Most mobiles have already received the WhatsApp update in all countries, according to The Verge, so it is likely that you have this function active. It is very easy to check.
You just have to enter the conversation you want and point as always a photo or video to send it to your contact or group. Before sending it, next to the arrow you will see that there is a “1”. Click on it and this message will appear:
As you can read, WhatsApp informs you of two important things: the recipient will only be able to open the image once, but it is up to them to take a screenshot if you want, so it is not 100% sure that there will be no trace of the image. Once you accept, your content will be sent.
Regarding the limitation for screen capture, few applications have this possibility. One of them is Signal, which is one of the most privacy-conscious and the one used at the moment in the European Union. In any case, it is an advance on the part of WhatsApp.
It is clear that the function will not change the use of WhatsApp excessively, but it is another step to advance privacy and gradually adding options that were already available in the competitor’s applications.